University of Pretoria, UP, Tukkies
The academic programmes of the University are offered in the following nine faculties and a business school. The faculties comprise a total of 140 departments and 85 centres, institutes and bureaus.

Situated in the picturesque, historic city of Pretoria, the University of Pretoria offers entertainment, sport and academic facilities that leave you spoilt for choice. Use our SA Study website search facility to find a selection of UP degrees.

The University of Pretoria has its origins in the establishment of the Pretoria Centre of the Transvaal University College in 1908. The colloquial name of the university, Tuks or Tukkies, was derived from the acronym of the college – TUC.

UP is a leading research university in South Africa and one of the largest in the country. The University has six campuses and a number of other sites of operation such as the Pretoria Academic Hospital. Central administration is located at the Hatfield campus.

The academic programmes of the University are offered in the following nine faculties:

  • Economic and Management Sciences

  • Education

  • Engineering, Built Environment and Information Technology

  • Health Sciences

  • Humanities

  • Law

  • Natural and Agricultural Sciences

  • Theology

  • Veterinary Science

For more info on University of Pretoria, visit:

Source: University of Pretoria website

*Content adapted for

Look for a Bursary or Go back to Homepage

Read More

Contact Details

For more info on UP:
Contact number: 012 420 3111
Contact email: N/A